Tuesday, July 22, 2008

About Aarogyasri Health Care Trust

About Aarogyasri Health Care Trust
Rural population of state, majority of whom are farmers, are not having access to advanced medical treatments and are silent sufferers of ill health. This is more true in case of diseases related to heart, kidney, brain, cancer and injuries due to domestic accidents and burns. While the Government is in the process of adequately strengthening the health institutions for basic health care, lack of specialist doctors and equipments for treatment of serious diseases has created a wide gap between the disease load and the capacity of the Government hospitals to serve the poor. These facilities though available in corporate sector are catering mainly to the affordable sections of society and are beyond the reach of poor families living in villages. Because of this gap poor patients are constrained to go to private hospitals for treatment and in the process incur huge debts leading to sale of properties and assets or are, sometimes, left eventually to die.
Keeping above scenario in the mind, the government in an effort to assist the Below Poverty Line families (BPL) has decided to introduce health insurance for treating the dreaded diseases. In order to facilitate the effective implementation of the scheme, the Government has set up AAROGYASRI HEALTH CARE TRUST under the chairmanship of Hon'ble Chief Minister. The trust in consultation with the specialists in the field of insurance and medical professionals has devised a tailor made insurance scheme - The Rajiv Aarogyasri Community Health Insurance Scheme. The Star Health and Allied Insurance Co. Ltd, has been selected through a competitive bidding process to implement the scheme on Phase II w.e.f. 05/12/2007, in the three most backward districts of Andhra Pradesh viz.., West Godavari,East Godavari, Chitoor, Rangareddy and Nalgonda. Government has also decided to pay entire premium for this year.
Dr. Y.S.Rajasekhara ReddyHon'ble Chief Minister

Smt. Galla Aruna Kumari
Sri. P.K. Agarwal, I.A.S.,
Hon’ble Minister for Medical Education
Principal Secretary to Govt.,
& Health Insurance
HM & FW Department

Sri. N.Ramesh Kumar, I.A.S.,
Sri. K.Raju, I.A.S.,
Principal Secretary.,
Principal Secretary.,
Finance Department
Rural Development Department

Sri. Anil Punetha, I.A.S.,
Dr. D Ramesh Chandra,
Commissioner of Family Welfare
Director of Health

Dr. V. Murali Mohan
Dr. P Venkateshwar Rao
Director of Medical Education
Commissioner,A.P.Vaidya Vidhana Parishad.

Dr. D. Prasada Rao
Sri P.R. Kiran Kumar Reddy
Director NIMS
Financial Adviser

Sri Babu. A, I.A.S.,
Chief Executive Officer

No comments: